A Legacy of Excellence
A Legacy of Excellence

History of Dyersburg Alumnae Chapter

In 1973 a group of Deltas in the Dyersburg area began discussing the need to establish a graduate chapter to continue the legacy of public service espoused by the Founders.  On the evening of November 16, 1973, thirteen (13) Deltas gathered in the home of Emma B. Batts, along with Regional Director, Anne Stroud.  On that evening, the Dyersburg Alumnae Chapter of Delta Sigma Theta, Inc. became a reality.  


The Charter members are:  

Standing L to R Emma Mays-Reynolds, Rosalyn Holloway Tungstall, Bonnie Ruth Johnson, Cora Hughes, Mary Martin, Betty Oliver Love, Mary Sibert McCauley, Veneda Greene Davenport.  

Seated L to R Auxvasse Hayes, Anne Stroud (DST Southern Regional Director), *Emma Fowlkes, *Emma Beckett Batts, *Ina Yarbrough, and  *Johnnie Parker Whitelaw. 



Visit Delta Sigma Theta’s National Website at www.deltasigmatheta.org 

Visit Delta Sigma Theta’s Southern Region Website at www.dstsouthernregion.com

Print Print | Sitemap
2017 © This website is the sole property and responsibility of the Dyersburg Alumnae Chapter of Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, Inc.